top of page

People

I am on my phone, on my bed, and it's 3:30 pm. I have been awake for one hour, and I honestly don't want to get up. I would rather lay in bed all day than face my simple responsibilities. If I'm being honest here, I might as well tell you that I watched Gilmore Girls from 4:30 pm to 2:30 am last night. I'm partially ashamed, partially not. Sure, I didn't watch any Netflix over break. Sure, all my friends were working or out of town or also watching Netflix. But, I still watched Netflix for TEN HOURS. So, "naturally", I didn't wake up until 2:30 pm today. 


As I was contemplating getting up, (an hour later) a thought came into my head:


There are people who are waking up today, wondering how they will feed their children. 

There are orphans who are waking up today, wondering how they are going to beg for food. 

There are people waking up today, just to find their next high. 

There are parents waking up today, knowing their rights to mother or father their children are going to be taken away. 

There are workaholics waking up today, entangled by the must-have-money mentality. 

There are wives waking up today, divorcing their husbands because they feel neglected from his absence. 

There are families waking up today, breaking apart, one by one. 

There are people waking up today, wondering if this is the last day they can take it. 

There are people waking up today, knowing that their cancer, their aids, their disease, will take them from this earth today. 

There are people waking up today, recovering from a night full of prostitution. 

These are people waking up today, without hope from knowing that Jesus is ALIVE and is preparing a better place for them. 


Then, there is me, waking up today, and now feeling selfish and repentive, yet compelled to pray for the world. I know the true hope that comes from knowing Jesus. I know a love, so big and unconditional, that I can't comprehend. I have been commissioned, yet I do nothing about it. 


Jesus, forgive me for thinking only of myself, for getting lost in the day-by-day of this fast-paced culture. For forgetting that there are people beyond my scope, that I have and never will meet. Jesus, forgive me for ignoring your heart; for not clothing you when you were naked, for not giving you water when you were thirsty, and for not feeding you when you were hungry. Jesus forgive me. Father come, kill my fleshly spirit, and make me completely yours. I don't want to be selfish. I don't want to be ignorant. Break my heart for what breaks yours, Jesus. Let me remember that people are people, that they are not just statistics. Let me remember that I am privileged in this bubble of mine. Let me reach beyond this bubble, into other's hearts and minds. Let me exude your love to others. Help me to be a light in the darkness. Help me, Jesus. I can do nothing without you. Help them, Jesus. They cannot go on living without you. Reveal yourself to them. Even if I cannot reach them, bring your light to them. Let the church arise in this world, reaching out to every corner of the earth. Help us, Jesus. Help us show your love. 


- emily


Songs: 


"The Sheep and the Goats" by Keith Green

"Hosanna" by Hillsong


Verses:


Matthew 28:19 AMP

"Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations [help the people to learn of Me, believe in Me, and obey My words], baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,"


John 8:12 AMP

"Once more Jesus addressed the crowd. He said, “ I am the Light of the world. He who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.”"




FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page