top of page

Bon Voyage

Transitions. Changes. Progression.

As I sit here and think about my last week at home before I officially move, I have countless feelings.

At moments, I feel excited for this transition in life- the aspect of meeting new people, becoming more independent, and deepening my relationship with God. At other times, I become nervous for the many changes that are about to happen. I've known my friends for all of my life, I've never had the need to make new ones. This makes me anxious when I think about having to open myself up others. I'm 18 and I can't drive; how can I even THINK of being independent???

Last night, my friends and I gathered for a last "hoorah" before I leave. I couldn't help feeling saddened that we were all moving on in life and not in the same direction, yet I was anxious to see where we would end up in life. I firmly believe that God will bring us back together for something that we can't even begin to imagine in this moment. As we said "bon voyage!" to one another, I knew that we were moving in the right direction.

This week has made me appreciate family more than ever. While I sat in a hospital, waiting for my grandmother to go through surgery, I realized that my family will always be where I need them to be. I don't like the fact that my grandparents are getting older. I don't like that I won't get to see my siblings grow up moment by moment. I don't like to think of the nights that I will wish for some good spaghetti or tex-mex from my mother's kitchen. I don't like that I won't be at every family outing, whether to the movies or to church. I don't like that I won't be going to the church that I have grown with. YET, I know beyond any doubts that I am going where the Lord wants me to go.

Through all of my feelings- excitement, melancholy, anxiety, joy- I know that the I AM is with me. I will never be alone (queue Kari Jobe). He is guiding my path, He is ever-dependable, He is unchangeable, He is my peace giver, He is my provider, He is my protector, He is the Almighty one. Yahweh is the alpha and omega- He is the beginning and the end. I do not have to worry about the past or the future because Jesus has it in his hands. I walk in his favor and in his peace, and I will fear no evil.

"Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path." Psalm 119:105

"So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand." Isaiah 41:10

“I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.” Revelation 1:8


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page