top of page

Life at ORU

Two weeks ago I arrived in Tulsa, Oklahoma and began my first year as a college student. I just completed my first full week of classes, yet it feels like I have been here for months. These past two weeks have been the longest of my life (in a good way). I have moved in, gone through orientation, met new people, gone to classes, bought textbooks, read several chapters of those books, and found a church.

I'm loving life here, although every now and then I wish I was at home. There are times when I remember the delicious food at home (the cafeteria is good but will never be as good as my mommas cooking), the familiar faces, and my loud family, and I wish I could change my situation. I'm going to confess, sometimes I have FOMO. FOMO is the "Fear Of Missing Out," and when my family tells me that they are playing games, eating out, welcoming my brother home from South Korea, and my friends go out without me, I have FOMO. BUT, Jesus continually reassures me that this is where I am supposed to be. I am reminded of Ecclesiastes 3:1-8. There is a time for everything. If I was at home, than I would be missing out on what God has planned for me.

I love ORU and their beliefs. The vision statement, "Raise up your students to hear My voice, to go where My light is dim, where My voice is heard small, and My healing power is not known, even to the uttermost bounds of the earth. Their work will exceed yours, and in this I am well pleased," is what the Lord has been telling me to do from a young age. When God told me that I was going to be a medical missionary, I resisted because that wasn't what I had envisioned for my life. God's plan is greater though, and I began to realize my heart was for people who needed healing and who needed the saving power of grace. This desire is a God-given desire, and ORU is only a small part of His plan for me. Just as Jeremiah 29:11-13 says, He has plans for me, and as I seek His will I will find him. God's purpose for your life is greater than anything you could imagine for yourself. I discover that more and more each day. We can't let ourselves talk ourselves out of His plan because of fears, financial issues, or even people.

I will try to post at least once a week! I am praying for you as you go through your day that you will choose God's will and give over your will. When I give over my will, I find that I am more content than I would be anywhere else.

Here's some pictures of my new friends! If you want to see my dorm, feel free to look on my Facebook!


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page